Wondering about animation styles

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Anim8tor Cathy

Wondering about animation styles

Post by Anim8tor Cathy »

This may be a very naïve question so please bear with me. Because I am just beginning I have no predefined style and I’ve felt pulled to work in more than one way – this is confusing. How does one define their style? I have a defined style as an illustrator – but it doesn’t work when animated. So I must define a new style for myself as an animator.

I’ve noticed that many of you have very set styles to your work. How did you come to adopt them? Is style something that accumulates over time with repetition or is it a deliberate choice to animate in a certain way? Or both? Or is it something else?

My first impulse is to draw the kind of animation I enjoy watching, like Miyazaki’s films; the problem is I don’t have another 50 Japanese animators here to help me …HA!

Which brings up still another question – does economy of time and energy aid in defining the style for a lone animator?

Questions, questions, questions …
slowtiger

Re: Wondering about animation styles

Post by slowtiger »

There's a book about this, "Art in Motion: Animation Aesthetics" by Maureen Furniss http://www.johnlibbey.com/books_detail. ... 3&area=mus (Review by Giannalberto Bendazzi here: http://www.awn.com/mag/issue3.11/3.11pa ... otion.php3) which gives a nearly complete overview about all questions an animation artist could ask during work. I found this book just by accident in a local library, after for many years I wished to see more animation discussed in terms of aesthetics, and not only story and money. Many of the decisions which define a "style" are discussed here, and I found it very enlightening to read about some lesser known influences to which artists have to adapt.