Instance before current instance

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
Joost
Posts: 386
Joined: 24 Nov 2011, 13:16

Instance before current instance

Post by Joost »

Hi there,

First of all: I'm currently working in TVP 11.7, and I'm loving it so far! A lot of smart implementations and fixes. Of course I haven't tried out everything yet. But so far so (very) good :)

But now something that I'm wondering for a while now:
Is there a way to make a keyboard shortcut to add one new instance before the current instance that does NOT move the layer to the right?
I always found this behaviour really strange, I always have to move my layer back to where it was. But maybe I'm just doing something wrong...

Thanks!
Mac OS 11.2.3, Mac mini 2020 Apple M1 chip, 16GB RAM, Wacom Cintiq 27 QHD (no touch), Wacom Driver 6.3.42-1.
TVP Pro 11.7.0
User avatar
Joost
Posts: 386
Joined: 24 Nov 2011, 13:16

Re: Instance before current instance

Post by Joost »

No one can help me out?
Mac OS 11.2.3, Mac mini 2020 Apple M1 chip, 16GB RAM, Wacom Cintiq 27 QHD (no touch), Wacom Driver 6.3.42-1.
TVP Pro 11.7.0
User avatar
Joost
Posts: 386
Joined: 24 Nov 2011, 13:16

Re: Instance before current instance

Post by Joost »

I found a workaround!
For those who are interested I attached the panel...
Inst-before.tvpx
(54 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
Mac OS 11.2.3, Mac mini 2020 Apple M1 chip, 16GB RAM, Wacom Cintiq 27 QHD (no touch), Wacom Driver 6.3.42-1.
TVP Pro 11.7.0
User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 3523
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Instance before current instance

Post by D.T. Nethery »

Joost wrote: 03 Oct 2022, 06:34 Is there a way to make a keyboard shortcut to add one new instance before the current instance that does NOT move the layer to the right?
I'm not quite sure what this means about "not move the layer to the right" ? When I insert a new instance before the current instance it does not shift the whole layer to the right ,but obviously the instances that occur after the newly inserted instance must move to the right because where else could they go ? (unless you mean insert a new blank instance that replaces the current instance?)



For adding a new blank instance before the current instance use Image menu > Instances > Insert Instance Before Current Image. This can be assigned to a short cut key.

Screen Shot 2022-10-04 at 9.15.20 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-04 at 9.15.40 AM.png


Or right-click on the layer and from the menu select Insert Images before.
Screen Shot 2022-10-04 at 9.29.43 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-04 at 9.29.43 AM.png (38.59 KiB) Viewed 368 times

You can assign this shortcut to any available key -
Screen Shot 2022-10-04 at 9.16.32 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-04 at 9.16.32 AM.png (12.51 KiB) Viewed 369 times

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MacOS 12.5 Monterey , Mac Mini (2018) , 3.2 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7,
16 GB RAM , TVPaint PRO 11.7 - 64bit , Wacom Cintiq 21UX 2nd Gen.
,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.39-1
User avatar
Joost
Posts: 386
Joined: 24 Nov 2011, 13:16

Re: Instance before current instance

Post by Joost »

Thanks for the elaborate reply!

I think I might not have expressed myself correctly.
I meant, add an instance at the beginning of a layer. So before the first frame/instance. When I do this, it always moves my layer.

The button I shared above solved this issue. (it also prevents the moving of the other images when it's somewhere else in the layer.

Here is a video of my problem (you see that the layer moves when I want to add an instance before the current frame):
Screen Recording 2022-10-04 at 15.54.29.mov
(941.15 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
Mac OS 11.2.3, Mac mini 2020 Apple M1 chip, 16GB RAM, Wacom Cintiq 27 QHD (no touch), Wacom Driver 6.3.42-1.
TVP Pro 11.7.0
Post Reply