BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
User avatar
Soom
Posts: 944
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Soom » 05 Apr 2021, 00:22

hi
I can't remember if it was the same in previous versions, but in TVP 11.5.1 I encounter 2 issues when copy pasting clips in Project Timeline View:
1. selecting clips is only possible with SHIFT, otherwise it's impossible to copy paste any clip. In thumbnails view it's possible to select a clip just by clicking second time, but it doesn't work in Project Timeline view.
2. this one is a bug I guess: when copy/pasting multiple clips, it acts as CUT instead of COPY and deletes the clips from their original location as soon as I paste them. this doesn't apply on single clips.
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Xavier » 24 May 2021, 11:29

Do you copy the clips using a keyboard shortcut ?
Bad, bad cow

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 944
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Soom » 25 May 2021, 15:50

Hi Xavier
here is a video of this problem.
I use both CTRL C keyboard shortcut, and right-click menu - same result (see video)
thanks
tvp_clip_timeline_copy-paste.mp4
(6.83 MiB) Downloaded 647 times
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Xavier » 02 Jun 2021, 13:11

Soom wrote:
05 Apr 2021, 00:22
1. selecting clips is only possible with SHIFT, otherwise it's impossible to copy paste any clip. In thumbnails view it's possible to select a clip just by clicking second time, but it doesn't work in Project Timeline view.
Ok, I think I understand now : unless you select a clip or an instance in the timeline, you cannot actually copy-paste it:
Kazam_screencast_00002.mp4
(511.61 KiB) Downloaded 448 times
Bad, bad cow

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 944
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Soom » 03 Jun 2021, 15:36

hmm, but I am not sure how does it affect the Project view window - the main problem is the Project view, not the Clip timeline view... Also it doesn't explain why copy/paste acts like cut/paste
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Xavier » 02 Jul 2021, 11:56

Hi Danas, using the new 11.5.2 release do you still have the same problem ?

I'm not sure about the clip copy-paste, TVPaint seems to endure quite a hassle when you do it ^^
Yet I wasn't able to reproduce the "cut-paste" you described.
Bad, bad cow

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 944
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Soom » 05 Jul 2021, 12:23

Xavier wrote:
02 Jul 2021, 11:56
Hi Danas, using the new 11.5.2 release do you still have the same problem ?

I'm not sure about the clip copy-paste, TVPaint seems to endure quite a hassle when you do it ^^
Yet I wasn't able to reproduce the "cut-paste" you described.
Hi Xavier.
Nope, sorry, not working. Here is the video showing exactly the problem:
TVP_copy-paste_problem.mov
(23.32 MiB) Downloaded 324 times
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Xavier » 05 Jul 2021, 12:54

Ok, I get it. The timeline view, I just misread ...
Bad, bad cow

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Xavier » 06 Jul 2021, 11:34

Soom wrote:
05 Jul 2021, 12:23
Xavier wrote:
02 Jul 2021, 11:56
Hi Danas, using the new 11.5.2 release do you still have the same problem ?

I'm not sure about the clip copy-paste, TVPaint seems to endure quite a hassle when you do it ^^
Yet I wasn't able to reproduce the "cut-paste" you described.
Hi Xavier.
Nope, sorry, not working. Here is the video showing exactly the problem:
TVP_copy-paste_problem.mov
Actually yes, I reproduced it, we will do a hotfix on the release 11.5.2 for this one (as it was supposed to be fixed).
Bad, bad cow

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Xavier » 06 Jul 2021, 11:36

Soom wrote:
05 Apr 2021, 00:22
1. selecting clips is only possible with SHIFT, otherwise it's impossible to copy paste any clip. In thumbnails view it's possible to select a clip just by clicking second time, but it doesn't work in Project Timeline view.
Regarding the clip selection, I agree that it's a bit difficult. We'll try to improve this, but it will not be possible for this release.
Bad, bad cow

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 944
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Soom » 06 Jul 2021, 12:15

Xavier wrote:
06 Jul 2021, 11:36
Soom wrote:
05 Apr 2021, 00:22
1. selecting clips is only possible with SHIFT, otherwise it's impossible to copy paste any clip. In thumbnails view it's possible to select a clip just by clicking second time, but it doesn't work in Project Timeline view.
Regarding the clip selection, I agree that it's a bit difficult. We'll try to improve this, but it will not be possible for this release.
great, thanks. it's not as critical as dragging clips to the right edge - I hope you can fix that first )
Hackintosh, OS 10.13.6, Cintiq 22", TVP Pro 11.5.1, http://danasb.com

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Xavier » 17 Sep 2021, 16:28

I think I achieved something neat this afternoon ... this will be in the next beta ;)
TVPaint_clip_select.mp4
(1.22 MiB) Downloaded 135 times
(sorry David for the hardship with the video, with VLC it should be okay !)
Bad, bad cow

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 3109
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by D.T. Nethery » 17 Sep 2021, 21:34

Xavier wrote:
17 Sep 2021, 16:28
I think I achieved something neat this afternoon ... this will be in the next beta ;)

TVPaint_clip_select.mp4

(sorry David for the hardship with the video, with VLC it should be okay !)
That looks very interesting !! (and yes, , the video plays fine with VLC )

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.
MAC OS 10.14.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Late 2013,
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.5.2 - 64bit ,
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX ,Wacom Intuos Pro 5 , Wacom driver version 6.3.39-1

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3952
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Peter Wassink » 18 Sep 2021, 17:41

Xavier wrote:
17 Sep 2021, 16:28
I think I achieved something neat this afternoon ... this will be in the next beta ;)

TVPaint_clip_select.mp4

(sorry David for the hardship with the video, with VLC it should be okay !)
this is already in the current 11.5.3 right? (the color coding of clips)... great addition by the way!

i am wondering will it also become possible to drag selected clips?
that doesn't work now but is something one would expect.

especially when in the 'timeline view' it would be great for consistency of interface if selected clips can be dragged, like you would frames in a clip.
just by clicking and dragging.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM

Svengali
Posts: 1459
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: BUG: copy/pasting clips in Project Timeline view problem

Post by Svengali » 18 Sep 2021, 21:42

Color coding of clips by groups (individually or multi-selected) goes back at least as far as 11.0.10. In the video, the innovation seems to be instead of only 13 different clip color groups being available, next beta will offer 26 different color groups?

But since any selected color group isn't limited to contiguous sets, it might be hinky to work out dragging of non-adjacent clips?

sven
Last edited by Svengali on 18 Sep 2021, 22:37, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop: tvp Pro 11.0.10-64bit, Win8.1 - 24GB ram -2TB HHD - 256GB SSD - Wacom Cintiq 16, driver 6.3.36-1
Android Tablet: rel. 11, Samsung Galaxy Note10.1 - 32GB internal - microSD 32GB
Android Tablet: rel. 11.5, Samsung Galaxy Tab S7plus - 128GB internal - no microSD yet

Post Reply