Main Panel accidental tool switching

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
JamesHeelis

Main Panel accidental tool switching

Post by JamesHeelis »

Hello TVPaint community!

I'm having an issue with the main panel and subtool selection. I've been using TVPaint for about 4 years now and I always felt that when switching between tools (ie, From Stroke -> Cut brush), the tool would randomly switch to a different subtool (ie, my cutting tool is set to free selection but randomly switches to rectangle selection).

At first, I thought this was a bug, but I realized that, especially when drawing quickly, I would select a tool and for a very brief moment and it brings up the subtool menu. I accidently select topmost subtool as I'm lifting my stylus, only to be frustrated a second later when the tool is doing a rectangle selection as opposed to my intended free selection.

While the interface is indeed working as intended, I think that the menu being on the left-side of the screen and the drawing area being to the right of the menu by default leads to this brief accidental selection of the subtool. Im not a UI designer but I think a solution to this issue may be to require more than .5 seconds to enable a selection of a subtool.

I suppose I should just learn the shortcut so I don't select the tool by hand, but it has become second-nature to select the tools quickly on the top-left of the interface. I think I've seen previous threads about this issue but no bug was ever discovered, and I think I've discovered the reason for this quirk.

Anyways, thank you for reading. I love TVPaint. Hope everyone is staying happy and safe
Xavier

Re: Main Panel accidental tool switching

Post by Xavier »

Imagine you're drawing on paper : what do you use for drawing ? a tool.