Creating Aura transparent backgrounds for use in VT5

You got a problem with Mirage or Aura ? Tell us here.
randyb

Creating Aura transparent backgrounds for use in VT5

Post by randyb »

I apologize if this topic has been covered. I searched and couldn't find an answer to our specific issue. We are total newbies. We are trying to create transparent backgrounds with a visible foreground image (brush) in Aura 2.7 that we can than use as overlays in VT5. It appears the background is transparent by default in Aura but when we try and use the graphic in the CG module or in a DDR the background is visible. We are trying to create over the shoulder graphics without a background and have floundered around for a couple of weeks. If someone could give us the answer or point to a step by step process online that would be great.

Thanks.

RandyB
Jefferson High School
Lafayette, IN.
Paul Fierlinger

Re: Creating Aura transparent backgrounds for use in VT5

Post by Paul Fierlinger »

Aura 2.7 is buried in my memory but there is a way to turn off the background to None (I think it's at the bottom left of the layers panel, just like it is now. It'll look like the background has turned black but that's just the Aura color of limbo. If this won't work, someone with better memory than I have will be here in a minute. Or two.
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet
randyb

Post by randyb »

Thanks Paul. It appears the backgrounds are indeed transparent in aura- but we are running into the problem when we try to use that graphic in VT5- either using a key effect with the DDR or with the CG. Those toaster modules don't seem to be able to see the transparent background. I'm guessing it is a simple fix- which for us seems to be the worst kind!''

RandyB
Paul Fierlinger

Have you contacted NewTech, they still carry Aura?
Paul
randyb

Post by randyb »