stopmotion with mac?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
kariP

stopmotion with mac?

Post by kariP »

Hello,

I've been using tvp for 2 months and I have to say, I don't think I've never learned as quickly a program than now. In the beginning the interface made my eyes cross, but now it seems right and everything just seems to be in place. :D Ah, and I believe buying tvp has been the best investment of my educational life. It speeded up my animationprocess times 10. Really.. Now when im able to make movement quickly by sketching them, im really able to get inside the movement and stay there. Now I also know that I'm able to do something from beginning to finish. It's very liberating for creativity.

Anyhow,

My question:

We are going to do puppet animation in our school and im wondering how to make tvp stop motion work with mac. In the tvp manual it says canon plugin works with pc only. Does anybody have any experience with stop motion in tvp and mac? I have a basic canon powershot a85, can it be connected? Or do i need a real "system camera"?
I tried to find answers from the forum, but found little. (mac alone as a searchword don't give any results, :shock: )

Thanks for any reply.
-Kari

ps. I've been browsing this forum from when i started planning to buy tvp, and i'm starting to be sure it has some good stuff in it. For example, My dog Tulip. I first heard it from here and now theyre showing it in Animatricks in Helsinki. Have to be there. Also Kari Hietalahti, a funny Finnish man, said he's very interested of the movie because he also has a very extraordinary dog.
Windows 10 (64 bit), 8gb ram, intel i5 10400f. TVpaint 11.7
slowtiger

Re: stopmotion with mac?

Post by slowtiger »

There's a free software still available, it's called "FrameThief" and works with every digital video camera - in video resolution. It is very good for fast capturing of frames and creating Quicktime files from that.