Do I have to redraw every single frame and layer???

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
hoobastar

Do I have to redraw every single frame and layer???

Post by hoobastar »

I'm new to this TVP and animation (I can draw tho). Let say i got a character and i want him/her to walk from point A to B, do I have to redraw the character many many times with different leg position or something?
if so... How long does it take you guys to make a 5mins clip???
Peter Wassink

Re: Do I have to redraw every single frame and layer???

Post by Peter Wassink »

yes.
1 month to 2 years.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win11/64 Pro - AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core - 64Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 16Gb RAM
Elodie

Post by Elodie »

oooh, just a loop walk can take fews hours. After you make walk your character from A to B with the keyframer =)
hoobastar

Post by hoobastar »

Is there some way to make it simpler or faster?
And that is kinda hard then... i mean.. yea i can draw, but let say I draw a character out, and to make him or her move I have to draw it like 20 times and so.. I cant say I can draw him or her the same every time, especially if i'm drawing a more compilcated character. Are there tools to help?
Elodie

Post by Elodie »

eeer... you can seperate every moving part of your character on different layers and move them with the keyframer...

But I think it will be as long as drawing by yourself =)

There is no shortcuts in animation (even with 3D or vectoriel animation) : it takes time =)

If you need help, take a peek on Richard Williams' or Preston Blair's books : you will find everything you have to know about animation ! :D
slowtiger

Post by slowtiger »

hoobastar: You definitely need some reading material about standard animation procedures, or you will end up doing a lot of unneccessary work. Basic concepts like walk cycles and breaking up a character are, well, the basics of our job, besides drawing.