Animation work flow help

Show us your drawings and animation made with the TVPaint technology here !
jlahham

Animation work flow help

Post by jlahham »

I am intending on starting a new short using TVPaint. I am very new to this software and I would highly appreciate it if anyone of you pros would hint me on a good work flow. I know the basics of layers, I animate I just don't know how to organize my work and my scenes and what's the best way to layout a scene in BG MG and FG.
I'm pretty sure anything helps.

Many thanks in advance.

Jam

http://www.jamillahham.com/
Elodie

Re: Animation work flow help

Post by Elodie »

Hahaha, I like your animation with the inuits ! I can't wait to see what you are able to do with 2D animation =)
slowtiger

Post by slowtiger »

From your question I think you should concentrate on storyboarding first. The program doesn't matter in this stage. Do it on paper, or do it in TVP. You need to translate your story into a storyboard. There are numerous books about that subject available if you need additional input.
TVP 10.0.18 and 11.0 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
TVP 11.0 and 11.7 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
TVP 11.7 Mac Mini M2pro 32GB OS 13.5
Paul Fierlinger

Post by Paul Fierlinger »

I suggest you do in TVP what you have been doing in school. Looking at your exercises it seems like you have been given some good guidance -- for instance, keep it short; you're not making movies yet. Get very familiar with TVP by just fooling around. After being present on these forums for many, many years I can say that there are almost as many workflows as there are animators. I, for one, consider storyboards a waste of time unless it's something you need to do for a team job or a client.