Page 1 of 1

Pivot Change

Posted: 31 Aug 2020, 18:56
by acrookedheart
Currently the only way I know how to change the pivot when using Keyframer under FX is to adjust the sliders but it also moves the image around which I want to stay put. Is there a way to change the pivot without the image moving. It's sometimes a huge pain to have to change the pivot and realign the image.
Screenshot_1.png
Screenshot_1.png (75.97 KiB) Viewed 3974 times

Re: Pivot Change

Posted: 31 Aug 2020, 19:45
by slowtiger
None I'm aware of. Of course if you type in value N in one pivot dimension typing in value -N in the position dimension would help. I just duplicate the layer so I have a visual cue.

Re: Pivot Change

Posted: 31 Aug 2020, 20:38
by acrookedheart
That's what I do as well.

Re: Pivot Change

Posted: 31 Aug 2020, 20:51
by Peter Wassink
That annoying limitation has been bugging us for ever.
you can work around it though.

If your FXstack source is a custombrush you can adjust the pivot by choosing customhandle im the Custombrush tool panel.
That is relatively quick, albeit not pixel precise.
I sometimes even go so far as to load a complete animation as a custombrush, just for this purpose.



handle.jpg
handle.jpg (29.66 KiB) Viewed 3963 times
then choos custombrush as source:
handle2.jpg
handle2.jpg (46 KiB) Viewed 3963 times

Re: Pivot Change

Posted: 31 Aug 2020, 21:02
by acrookedheart
Thanks, I'll give that a shot.

Re: Pivot Change

Posted: 02 Sep 2020, 14:40
by D.T. Nethery
Peter Wassink wrote:
31 Aug 2020, 20:51
That annoying limitation has been bugging us for ever. You can work around it though.

If your FXstack source is a custombrush you can adjust the pivot by choosing customhandle im the Custombrush tool panel.
That is relatively quick, albeit not pixel precise. I sometimes even go so far as to load a complete animation as a custombrush, just for this purpose

Then choose custombrush as source:
That workaround with the Custom Brush as source is useful , but the Keyframer pivot position really needs to be changed to that the user can easily reposition the pivot point by simply dragging it to the desired pivot point without repositioning the artwork. If we had that (and also keyframe-able Warp ) then cut-out puppet animation (and a whole lot of other things) becomes much more viable in TVPaint.

Re: Pivot Change

Posted: 03 Sep 2020, 07:29
by Hironori Takagi
I was just thinking of posting the same question.
I hope it will be resolved soon.
200903_WantToMovePivot.png