Tips for speeding up inking/colouring/animating in general?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
MightyOtaking

Tips for speeding up inking/colouring/animating in general?

Post by MightyOtaking »

Hello all,

Paul “OtaKing” Johnson here. I’ve been using TVPaint for 10 years now, and made both of these short films using the program (you might even have seen the first one around the internet someplace):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN_CP4SuoTU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xKEqID3k6RA
(Sorry that they're links and not embedded videos. I can't seem to get the Youtube embedding to work!)

As you can see from the upload dates, it’s currently taking me about 3 years to produce a 6-7 minute animation with just me alone drawing, animating and painting everything myself. It’s gotten to the point where I really need to start speeding up the process somehow or I’ll be 60 years old before I make anything full-length!
I’m just wondering if anyone knows of a way using TVPaint 11 Pro (or any sort of workaround, really) that would help me speed up the process of inking my frames? I currently work pretty traditionally; draw a keyframe, draw another keyframe, then turn on lightbox and draw a bunch of inbetweens.
It’s as time consuming as you’d expect:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VemfyQ67Y4Y (You can see just how primitive and slow my inking and colouring process is just from this video, and why I need to evolve)

Is there some kind of arcane method of automatically creating inbetweens? A plugin or something that can look at two keyframes and intelligently generate an inbetween drawing between the two points? I know this seems like a bit of a longshot, but anything to help me cut down time will help at this point.