What video WILL import into TVP?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 123
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Hironori Takagi » 15 May 2020, 02:55

I can import both files without any trouble, too.
TVPaint11.0.9 / Windows10

Have you tried initializing the settings?
TVPaint 11.0.10, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / Mac OS 10.15, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 15 May 2020, 06:05

Thanks for the suggestion of intitializing the settings Hironori. I didn't know there was a way to do that. Will I find it in the manual?
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 15 May 2020, 08:23

Actually a search for the word "initialize" doesn't come up with anything in the manual.

Usually this means deleting the settings file somewhere in the bowels of C drive and letting an app recreate it the next time it starts. Maybe someone can verify that.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 15 May 2020, 08:24

Actually a search for the word "initialize" doesn't come up with anything in the manual.

Usually this means deleting the settings file somewhere in the bowels of C drive and letting an app recreate it the next time it starts. Maybe someone can verify that.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2652
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by D.T. Nethery » 15 May 2020, 14:32

dgrantham wrote:
15 May 2020, 08:24
Actually a search for the word "initialize" doesn't come up with anything in the manual.

Usually this means deleting the settings file somewhere in the bowels of C drive and letting an app recreate it the next time it starts. Maybe someone can verify that.
Deleting a configuration and creating a fresh configuration can sometimes fix issues. Be sure to back up your custom brushes, keyboard shortcuts, etc. before deleting your current configuration , so you can restore your custom settings in the new configuration . Here is where deleting a configuration is mentioned in the User Manual :

https://www.tvpaint.com/doc/tvp11/index ... nces-start
* When a configuration is deleted, all effects, brushes, palettes, shortcuts… used previously will be lost. Of course, if you saved them in advance, you can reload and re-use them.

By default, the configurations are located in the folder :

- for Windows users :
C:\\Documents and Settings\\your_name\\Application Data\\TVPaint Animation 11 (pro)

- for Mac users :
Home Directory/Library/tvp animation 11 (pro)/
(be careful, Libraries are hidden on Mac Lion, Mountain Lion and Yosemite)

- for Linux users :
Home Directory/.tvp/
(be careful, .tvp is a hidden folder)
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 2298
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Thierry » 15 May 2020, 17:34

Just to tune in regarding the config folder, the next release of the software will include a button that will open an explorer/finder window directly to the folder where the config is stored, so you won't have to find the folder by yoursef and find a setting to show hidden folders :)
Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu.
If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 15 May 2020, 18:57

The directory is a little different on WIndows 10, but I found and deleted the config.ini file and restarted TVP, and there's no improvement.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 15 May 2020, 19:47

I've tried test video downloaded from a site providing test video. It won't open in TVpaint either.

I had previously missed, in a post above, the suggestion that VLC could convert my files which might work, but that procedure has no effect - it doesn't create new files. This may indicate a system issue wrt to codecs; but as mentioned, WMP plays the non-importing files without issue.

It's also worth mentioning that this issue is consistent on both my machines, one of which is running Windows 7 and one running Windows 10. I've never installed codecs on either of these machines, but the performance of these files on WMP is fine on each computer.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 25 May 2020, 09:41

I filed a support ticket about this over a week ago but haven't heard back. Not sure how to proceed.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 353
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Xavier » 26 May 2020, 10:51

Sorry I'm a little out of time, but I don't forget this issue. Several users complained about the video formats, mp4 and so on.

Yet I tried the videos you submitted, they were all imported successfully on my setup : TVP 11.0.10 on Linux 64 bits, using Menu File->Open/Import
I'm going to test again on a Win10 machine and see the result.
Short but strong

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 353
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Xavier » 26 May 2020, 11:03

Update : on my Win10 machine, using TVPaint 11.0.10, the videos were imported successfully, on both Pro and Standard versions... sorry :(

This machine is freshly installed, with nothing fancy on it.
Short but strong

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 26 May 2020, 16:43

I would like to fix this.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 353
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Xavier » 27 May 2020, 12:32

If you use TVPaint 10.5.7 as your signature says, TVPaint doesn't support this version anymore.

Otherwise if this happens with the latest TVPaint 11, we will need further info to reproduce the error. There are serious hints that your problem is related to your Windows installation.

In any cases, the videos DO work on everyone else's machines.
So could you please try on another machine ?
Short but strong

User avatar
dgrantham
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 May 2008, 15:20

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by dgrantham » 18 Jul 2020, 09:41

Thanks Xavier.

I have had to work around this problem for the past short while. Taking a look again.

On trying another PC:

I am not sure how to acquire yet a third computer for a test. If you really think yet a third machine is necessary to test, please let me know what sort of PC I should try, and - if it were to work on this third machine - how we would apply that knowledge to one of my two computers. I need to work with video on TVP on one of them.

I would prefer to assume at this point that it works on other machines, as we have heard from others. Perhaps you can help me now - without further testing on yet another machine - look into the TVP/Windows/codec interaction where the problem may be solved on one of my computers. Or at least point me in the right direction. I don't know where to start.

Over my years on the Mirage beta team, video always loaded smoothly in XPpro so for some time I thought the issue w TVPPro was surely somewhere in my windows 7 computer. It has only been since the precise problem has now been present on a new windows 10 machine as well, that I began to think it was related to TVP.

I expect it is a problem with the way windows and TVP and codecs are relating together in my installations, which I endeavour to keep clean as possible to run AVID on the windows 7 machine and demanding 3D modeling software (Rhino) on the windows 10.
TVPaint10Pro10.5.7-64bit : HPZ400, 6GB, NVidia Quadro 2000, Matrox MxO2/Lenovo Legion Laptop i7700 2.8Ghz GTX1050 16GB
TVPaint Android: Galaxy Note 12.1

User avatar
Xavier
Site Admin
Posts: 353
Joined: 01 Oct 2019, 11:08

Re: What video WILL import into TVP?

Post by Xavier » 20 Jul 2020, 10:06

Xavier wrote:
27 May 2020, 12:32
If you use TVPaint 10.5.7 as your signature says, TVPaint doesn't support this version anymore.
Which version of TVPAINT do you use ?
http://forum.tvpaint.com/viewtopic.php? ... 45b94b0d76
Short but strong

Post Reply